Newborn department

A team of experienced, highly skilled neonatologists delivers world-class care to newborn infants including observation, monitoring, developmental care, treatment, and rehabilitation using advanced technologies in neonatal care.

LELEKA Maternity Hospital has everything necessary for quality perinatal care. We perform observations and provide medical care for premature infants and all babies born with different disorders during neonatal period.


Birth of a Baby

From the first breath, a baby is provided with warm environment and care of highly qualified neonatologists. Immediately after birth, a doctor assesses a baby’s condition using the Apgar scoring system. Most healthy newborns have a score of 7 or 8 at 1 minute after birth, at a later time the score can reach the maximum value of 10. If a baby has the Apgar score of less than 7, the multidisciplinary neonatal team performs required resuscitation for newborn life support.
 

The Department of Neonatology and Neonatal Intensive Care is equipped with appropriate medical equipment and monitoring system; and the most important that it provides a high quality around the clock care.
 

Preterm infants born at 22 to 34 weeks gestational age, who need intensive care, are provided with a full range of neonatal care services, and, if required, a baby can stay in the NICU for 28 days free of charge.
 

Preterm infants are to be monitored using cerebral function monitoring to detect brain lesions for 24 hours. Automated monitoring of blood pressure, blood flow and blood parameters in newborns is used.


Baby Care

Policies and practices to fully support breastfeeding and to provide a full rooming-in are implemented at LELEKA Maternity Hospital. Early contact between the mother and her baby starts during the first minute postbirth: doctors place the baby on the mother's breast in the delivery room and they stay together for 2 hours; then the mother and her baby are transferred to the postnatal ward. After a cesarean birth, a farther puts his baby to the breast. So-called "heat chain" is extremely important for babies; it encourages breastfeeding, reduces aggressive intensive care, and helps to form an early emotional and psychological bond between parents and their child.
 

During postpartum period, experienced neonatologists and nurses monitor infants around the clock; help a new mother to take care of her baby at the hospital and after discharge, and give breastfeeding consultations. During hospital stay, a mother and her baby are provided with needed medications and personal care products.
 
If a baby needs formula feeding, we provide baby food. If a mother had previous experience in formula feeding and has her preferences, her wishes are taken into account. Electric breast milk pumps are available at the maternity hospital.


Newborn Screening

LELEKA Maternity Hospital carries out mandatory expanded newborn screening for every infant to detect a number of disorders, which early diagnosis is important in neonatal period:

  • Expanded genetic screening for 26 inherited metabolic disorders
  • Pulse oximetry screening for early detection of critical congenital heart diseases (performed 24 hours after birth)
  • Audiologic screening for early detection of hearing impairment in newborns using otoacoustic emission method (performed 2-3 days after birth)

All newborn diagnostic tests are based on rapid micromethods that are non-invasive tests and do not affect the integrity of the skin.


Neonatal Vaccination

At first days after birth, a baby is given BCG and hepatitis B vaccine with parental consent, and if there are no contraindications to vaccination. The vaccines are manufactured in Bulgaria and Belgium. After getting the vaccines, a baby is under strict supervision of a neonatologist.
 

According to medical protocols and international standards, it is recommended that within first hours after birth, all newborn infants receive intramuscular vitamin K to prevent VKDB.
 


Why LELEKA Maternity Hospital?

We use the latest methods for early prevention of diseases:
Use of NeoPuff in the delivery room Surfactant replacement therapy
Neonatal vaccination
We use the latest methods for early detection of diseases:
Biochemical genetic testing
Pulse oximetry screening for early detection of congenital heart diseases
Neurosonography
Echocardiography
Abdominal ultrasound
Amplitude-integrated electroencephalography, dynamic screening for brain injury
Newborn hearing screening
Advanced treatment methods are used on high-risk newborns:
Intensive care and resuscitation
All types of respiratory therapy from non-invasive respiratory support to artificial respiration
Lung ventilation, including high-frequency oscillatory ventilation
Surfactant replacement therapy
Infusion therapy
Parenteral or intravascular nutrition
Exchange blood transfusion
Rational antimicrobial therapy
Immune-corrective therapy based on laboratory assessment of immune status

Отделение новорожденных

Команда опытных, высококвалифицированных врачей-неонатологов занимается наблюдением, выхаживанием, лечением и реабилитацией новорожденных с использованием современных технологий неонатальной помощи на уровне мировых стандартов.

Родильный дом «Лелека» обладает всем необходимым для качественного медицинского обслуживания в отрасли перинатальной медицины. Мы проводим наблюдение и оказываем медицинскую помощь всем новорожденным с различной патологией, а также преждевременно родившимся малышам в течение неонатального периода.


Рождение ребенка

С первого дыхания малыша окружают теплотой и заботой высококвалифицированные врачи-неонатологи. Сразу, после рождения малыша, врач оценивает состояние ребенка по шкале Апгар. Большинство здоровых новорожденных получают 7-8 баллов при рождении, с течением минут оценка возрастает до максимальной - 10. Если малыш набирает меньше 7 баллов, неонатологическая служба проводит необходимые реанимационные методы поддержания жизнеобеспечения новорожденных.

Отделение неонатологии и интенсивной терапии новорожденных оборудовано необходимой медицинской техникой, системой видеонаблюдения, самое главное – квалифицированной и круглосуточной медицинской помощью.

Недоношенным деткам с 22 до 34 и больше недель, которые нуждаются в интенсивной терапии, предоставляется неонатологическая помощь в необходимом объеме и, по необходимости, предусматривает возможность пребывания ребенка на протяжении 28 дней в отделении интенсивной терапии бесплатно.  

Недоношенным деткам показано применять суточный мониторинг церебральных функций для диагностики нарушений развития центральной нервной системы у новорожденных. Используется автоматизированные системы мониторинга кровообращения, давления и состояния крови новорожденного.


Уход за ребенком

Основные принципы в родильном доме «Лелека» - максимальное совместное пребывание матери и ребенка, максимальная поддержка грудного вскармливания. Контакт матери и ребенка начинается с первых минут жизни: врачи прикладывают ребенка к груди матери в родильном зале, и он остается с мамой в течении 2 часов, потом маму и малыша вместе переводят в послеродовую палату. После кесарево сечения ребенка отдают на грудь отцу. Так называемая «тепловая цепочка» очень важна для деток, она стимулирует грудное вскармливание, уменьшает агрессивность интенсивной терапии, способствует формированию раннего психоэмоционального контакта ребенка с родителями.

В послеродовой период, маме предоставляют круглосуточное наблюдение за ребенком опытными врачами-неонатологами и медицинскими сестрами, помогают в уходе за малышом в роддоме и после выписки, консультируют по грудному вскармливанию. Пребывая в родильном доме, маму и малыша полностью обеспечивают необходимыми медикаментами, средствами личной гигиены.
 

Если есть необходимость в кормлении ребёнка смесью – мы предоставляем детское питание. Если у мамы ранее был опыт кормления смесью и есть свои предпочтения – учитываем пожелания матери. В родильном доме есть электромолокоотсосы.
 


Неонатальный скрининг

В родильном доме «Лелека» проводится обязательный углубленный неонатальный скрининг – обследование всех новорожденных детей для выявления ряда заболеваний, ранняя диагностика которых важна в периоде новорожденности:

  • Расширенный генетический скрининг на 26 наследственных заболеваний обмена веществ
  • Пульсоксиметрия – ранний скрининг критических врожденных пороков сердца (проводится через сутки после рождения)
  • Аудиологический скрининг у новорожденных с целью ранней диагностики нарушений слуха методом оттоакустической эмиссии (проводится 2-3 сутки после рождения)

Все методы диагностики новорожденных основаны на микрометодах и экспресс-методах, которые предполагают использование неинвазивных, щадящих техник исследования, не нарушая целостность кожных покровов.


Вакцинация

В первые дни жизни ребенку, с согласия родителей и при отсутствии противопоказаний, делают вакцинацию от туберкулеза и от гепатита Б. Вакцины импортного производства – страна Болгария и Бельгия. Ребенок находится на чутком контроле врача-неонатолога после проведенной вакцинации.
 

Согласно медицинским протоколам и международным стандартам в первые часы жизни всем деткам рекомендуется внутримышечная инъекция витамина К, во избежание кровотечений у новорожденных.


Почему «Лелека»?

Современные методы ранней профилактики
Система NeoPuff в родильном зале Заместительная терапия искусственными сурфактантами
Вакцинация новорожденных
Новейшие методы ранней диагностики
Биохимический генетический скрининг
Пульсоксиметрия – ранний скрининг врожденных пороков сердца
Нейросонография
Эхокардиография
УЗИ органов брюшной полости
Амплитудно-интегрированная ЭЭГ, динамический скрининг поражения мозга
Неонатальный скрининг слуха
Выхаживание недоношенных детей
Интенсивная терапия и реанимация
Все виды респираторной терапии
Вентиляция легких, включая высокочастотную осцилляторную вентиляцию
Заместительная терапия искусственными сурфактантами
Инфузионная терапия
Парентеральное, или внутрисосудистое питание
Заменное переливание крови
Рациональная антибактериальная терапия
Иммунокорригирующая терапия